Menstrual taboos and ancient wisdom

Very sensibly n beautifully written. Something everyone must read n understand. When I clean the while house all day without taking a shower or eating my food I thought. . It’s just me. When I get all cranky ,annoyed, during pms I thought. . It’s just me. . But After reading this wonderful piece of article I gotta know.. It’s Not just me! It’s How we are! Very educative indeed!!

Mythri Speaks

“Why am I not allowed to visit a temple during my period?”A student sharing her experience

“Will the pickle really spoil if I touched it during menstruation?”

“Akka, why do they tell us not to touch anyone, to sit in a separate room and eat from a separate plate when we get our period?

Two thoughts play hide and seek in my mind as I try to answer these questions from young girls. One, that I should help them understand that these restrictions are not because they become impure or polluted during menstruation. Two, that I should never, ever, hurt their religious or cultural sentiments beacuse I have neither the knowledge nor the right to make that judgement. The latter makes it difficult to do the former, and so round and round I go in my explanations, at best being able to tell them that these practises have been in place for ages to…

View original post 2,480 more words

Leave a Token

